The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer by Michelle Hodkin

Screen Shot 2016-02-14 at 11.05.56 AMTypically, I’m a fairly easy reviewer. It doesn’t take much for me to like something, especially when it comes to books. I always give each book I start a chance, even if I end up coming back to it months later. With The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer, I truly did give it a chance. I kind of liked it, then after I was done reading it and the more I thought about it and “raved” about it to friends… the more I started to truly dislike it.

The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer has a pretty interesting premise, but at the same time, it had it’s flaws… oh, were there flaws. At times it was intense, and at other times it was just… confusing.

Anyway. I started reading this book because I saw a lot of really great reviews on it, then once I started reading it, I was extremely impressed. This book is your typical YA Paranormal Romance type of book. The main thing that stood out to me in the book is the fact that SO many things were going on at once. We have Mara, our main character, who moves from Rhode Island to Miami after a terrible accident involving her and her friends, after that accident Mara begins to remember exactly what it is that happened the night that her friends died through hallucinations and dreams. That sounds really interesting, right? That’s what I thought too. So, a little bit less than halfway through, we are introduced to Noah. I think it’s safe to say that novel reached it’s peak at this point, because after we meet Noah, soooo many things happen… and not in a good way. After introduced to Noah we have situation after situation coming up, and typically I would be totally fine with this because I truly enjoy paranormal stories that keep me on my toes, but with this novel that wasn’t the case. I felt like I had to keep up with everything that was happening, and it would all overlap each other, making it difficult to keep track on the situation at hand. That has to be one of my major complaints. I couldn’t stand the fact that Noah took over the whole entire book, and also the fact that Mara’s parents let her skip so many classes, but I digress.

Unfortunately, a book that I wanted to be good, turned out being less than average. Which sucks because I was really rooting for this book! When I started reading the first few chapters, I told my boyfriend what happened and we were both like, “Oh shit, that’s crazy!” and then as the story progressed… it just went downhill. It bums be out because I was really excited to read a good paranormal story! It also concerns me that so many people liked this book and didn’t notice that flaws that I noticed in this story!

Quite honestly, the book was okay. As I mentioned, I did enjoy the premise of the story, it just had a terrible execution. There are a lot more complaints than appraisals after reading this book, which is unfortunate. There is a second book that I’m contemplating on even reading it. On one hand, I want to read it to see what else happens because we were left at a bit of a cliff-hanger… but, on the other hand, I don’t want to put myself through another terrible reading. So, we will see what happens next, will I read the story? Or will I just go off to bigger and better things? You’ll find out on my next posting.

Happy reading!

Steph M.

If you want to hear a bit more of my thoughts on this book, check out my book channel on YouTube: https://www.youtube.com/user/messitalks

Leave a Reply

