Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children | Movie Review

Director: Tim Burton

Cinematographer: Bruno Delbonnel

Screenplay: Ransom Riggs, Jane Goldman

Editor: Chris Lebenzon

Producer: Peter Chernin

I have got to say, this was one of the most aesthetically pleasing films I’ve seen in quite a while. Tim Burton did a terrific job.

Going in watching this film, I was really scared I wasn’t going to like it. I typically always go in with low expectations when I’m watching a film I think I’m going to enjoy, juuuuuust in case. I’ve been let down so many times with films that when it comes to seeing book-to-movie adaptations, I go in knowing that there’s a high chance of being disappointed. Luckily, this was not the case.

From beginning to end I was in complete awe. Tim Burton and the rest of the team did an amazing job. I was so happy with how accurate and to-the-book everything was. Not many things got left behind, or at least I didn’t think so. All of the actors were chosen perfectly for their characters. It was incredibly spectacular, to say the least.

What I enjoyed the most about this film was how little difference it had to the novel. Tim Burton allowed us to visualize such a complex, mystical storyline in the most fascinating way possible. The cleverness and wit we get from the characters in the novel is spot on in the film adaptation. I was pleased with how true they stuck to the novel, which is great because there was nothing for them that needed to change, Ransom Riggs created a masterpiece. I also like how they explained the movie in a way that is easy for those who didn’t read the book to follow along. Of course, you always get more from the book than you do from the film adaptation, but I think they did a pretty good job in evoking the same emotions and reactions that Ransom Riggs did in the novel.

The biggest downside for me was that I hadn’t really remembered too much about the ending portion of the novel. While you’re reading the book, place very close attention once the climax starts picking up, because from what I remember, I felt like I started to get lost and confused towards the end of the novel. I can’t say if the ending was 100% true to the book, because I honestly cannot remember for the life of me. But I still feel like I was able to pick at pieces that kind of lost me in the book while I was watching this film. For the most part, I began to remember more about the book as the film progressed. Mind you, I read this maybe… ~three, maybe even four, years ago and didn’t really give myself a refresher going into the film.

The most amazing part, and I think most of you who have read and watched the film can agree, was how watching the film answered all of my questions as far as characteristics and other visual aspects of the book go. The novel itself can get a little complex with the way things are explained, you really have to use your imagination for this one. But I feel like the things I had missed from the book, or things I couldn’t really envision while I was reading the book, where answered throughout the movie. It’s just a really playful and mystical film with a powerful underlying message. We see a boy figure out himself, his family, and his meaning in this world. Within a matter of hours we are able to watch the main character grow from this awkward and shy teen to a much more powerful and confident one, all because of his peculiar friends.

As far as the film itself goes, it is a little bit over two hours long. But you definitely don’t feel it. The storyline takes you on a wild ride filled with fear, passion, and friendship. The graphics do not fail you one bit! Whether it’s showing off each child’s peculiarity to fight scenes with skeletons and hollowghasts, the graphics are definitely on point in this film. According to IMDB, their budget was a whopping $110 M. So you can only imagine what Tim Burton does with that!

I wish I could show you guys more pictures, especially of the children’s home… but I guess you’ll have to watch the movie and find out for yourself if you haven’t already!

 

 

Leave a Reply

